Katherine High School Council

The Council is incorporated under the Education Act, and from 1st April 2016 the new Education Act (2015), and operates within Department of Education policies and guidelines. Broadly the functions of the Council include:


Advising the principal about the educational needs of the community and policy implementation.
Assessing and advising on the physical needs of the school
Overseeing work on buildings and grounds being carried out at the school
Building links between parents, community groups and the school.
Determining the school’s annual budget.
Determining community use of school facilities
Employing school council staff
KHS Council 2019

Council members

KHS Council can have up to 19 members including parents, teachers, students, invited members and the school Principal. Elections for council representatives are held during Annual General Meetings at the start of each year. It is recognised that all council members provide a valuable service in school governance and the continuous improvement of Katherine High school.


2019 Council Members

Sharon Oldfield Rebecca Osmotherly Janet Schultz Kylie Ousey
KHS Principal Parent member


Parent member


Parent member


Chrissy Zelley Chris Eiermann Madonna Wuttke Trish Aspey
Parent Member Parent Member Parent Member Parent Member
Sue Price Veronica Wilson Kerrie Mott
Parent Member Parent Member Parent Member
Jamyma Kalamaras Alex Mildenhall Karen Walsh
Teacher Member Teacher Member Teacher Member
Rotating Student Rotating Student
Student Member Student Member
Sandra Nelson Warren Snowden /

Jo Nichol

Sam McMahon

Mel Usher

Invited Member Invited Member Invited Member


Council meetings


The Council usually meets the third week of each month, throughout the school year. Meeting dates are advertised via the school website, newsletter and Facebook page.

In addition to formal Council meetings, the Council supports the establishment of 4 sub-committees that also meet termly prior to Council meetings. Subcommittees are established to progress key Council priorities, working through the detail to ensure the Council has sound advice, options and recommendations to inform decision making.

2019 Subcommittee Members







Karen Walsh

Janet Schultz

Chris Eiermann

Sue Price


Daryl Francis

Sarah Dohl

Christine Sutherland

Chrissy Zelley

Kylie Ousey

Kate MacFarlane

Rebecca Osmotherly

Veronica Wilson

Jamyma Kalamaras